top of page

Whits fur ye winnae go past ye...

So when you grow up in a household full of wimmin, you pick up a few wee funny sayings - like 'whit's fur ye winnae go past ye.' It was one of my mum's favourites when things didn't go my way - if I didn't get a job I wanted or whatever.

I think it's probably the same with stories. Stories are such personal wee hings, like poems. I rarely ever buy a book o' poems or short stories and hink well, I loved every single one of those. In fact, I've NEVER done that. I pick out a few - pick 'n mix style and let the rest ... welll... sit there.

So a few weeks back I got a really lovely rejection from a magazine, saying ma story was beautifully written and they were sure it would be published elsewhere easily...just not in their magazine.

Remember when you were at school and you really fancied the boy in the year above and he said : "Och yer a really nice lassie but I'd rather just be friends?" Aye. THAT.

But, as ma mum also ALWAYS said - 'there's plenty mair fish in the sea'. So I sent it straight off, that very day to Storgy Magazine @morestorgy and I got the nicest email I've ever had in ma puff.

It went like this (got to share it cos it made me all big heided)

Once again, thank you for submitting to STORGY Magazine and considering us as the platform on which you would like to see your work published. We are excited to see the response to A Quirk of Nature and are confident that our readers will enjoy it as much as we did. Congratulations on writing a very fine short story.

See? Whit's fur ye, winnae go past ye. Cannae wait tae see it published. Will put up a link when it is.

bottom of page